The EREA Board is the highest authority within EREA. The chairman of the Board is also the chair of EREA and is assisted by a vice-chair. All the other groups act under the responsibility of the Board.

The EREA Board elected Pawel Stezycki, Director of ILOT, as new Chairman of EREA. He will be supported by Michel Peters, CEO of NLR, who as outgoing EREA chair has traditionally been elected as EREA Vice-Chairman and EREA Future Sky Coordinator.

In addition to that the EREA Board appointed Tim Buiting, NLR, as EREA secretary and as treasurer, Volker Krajenski, DLR, as head of the Aeronautical Research Group, Francesco Ferrigno, CIRA, as head of the Technology and Research Infrastructures Group and Rafaelle Donelli, CIRA, as head of the Defence Research Group. Under their leadership EREA and its groups will review and adapt the EREA strategy according to the new boundary conditions. EREA will continue to contribute and participate to ACARE in order to contribute to the European research and innovation strategy in Aviation (SRIA).